Total newbie installing wall panels in bathroom

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cat&dogs

Reaction score
Hi! Longtime reader, first time poster. :)

I'm remodeling the bathroom in a 1920s bungalow style house, and I've pulled off the old paneling from below the chair rail. The adhesive (something akin to liquid nails) was luckily put over wallpaper, which was over a couple of layers of paint, which was over old tile board, which was over the original plaster walls.

B/c of this layering, I was able to take down the old panels without pulling any plaster off (whew!). However, I've had to remove most of the wallpaper, and several of the underlying layers of paint, and occasionally the tile board, so there's not a similar buffer for the new adhesive.

My question is this: will it be possible to install the new wall panels without setting up some future remodeler to damage the plaster? Despite my fabulous design, at some point someone will probably want to redo the bathroom again, so I'd like to do this in a thoughtful way, if possible.

Is there a particular adhesive that is super sturdy but can be fairly easily removed? Liquid nails has become the bane of my existence, and I would love to use something less...impervious to removal.

Adding a layer of wallpaper, then adhering the new panels to that, would presumably get the same effcet I experienced, but wallpaper is more work than I have time and inclination for. Would contact paper work? It's fast and easy to install, and easily enough removed. I'm imagining that the next people could just put that glue dissolver on the contact paper, and voila! the liquid nails or whatever would come right off with the contact paper. But I have no experience, and that might be totally off base.

At any rate, per the subject, I'm a total newbie to this, so I would welcome any suggestions.

Thanks so much!
Cat