Will these screw work fine if I happen to drill into stud

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Corbino

Reaction score
Hanging newbie here…

So I bought a drywall anchor kit to install a 3 tier industrial pipe style Amazon bathroom shelf, and wanted to know if I happen to find a stud (considering the shelf isn’t a perfect 16 inch or so), would I be fine using the #8 1 1/2 screw included in the kit directly into the stud. It calls for a 5/16 pilot hole, and I’m curious whether that would cause any issues drilling into the stud as well. IMG_1056.jpeg

The 5/16 is the size for the anchor to pass thru. Always drill a much smaller hole first to see if you hit a stud. The size drill to use is one close to the minor diameter of the screw thread. If wood chips come out you know you are in a stud. If you break thru into air you know you are in the cavity. You could still be right next to a stud. I sometimes take a straightened out paper clip and curve it a little to probe around in the smaller hole to see if a stud is close by. When you see you are good open the hole to 5/16.

I generally look for studs first then go to anchors if studs don't work out (I use a stud finder).

I generally look for studs first then go to anchors if studs don't work out (I use a stud finder).
So when I do find a stud and can go into it, is it safe to just use the #8 1 1/2 screws that was provided with the kit?