Help me rig my thermostat!

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by aces11, May 17, 2006.

  1. May 17, 2006 #1

    aces11

    aces11

    aces11

    Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, I was wondering if I could rig my thermostat at a certain temperature, so my roomate couldn't turn the place into a freezer, and cost me a fortune in bills! Anyway to do it? It's a battery powered "Maple Chase" digital thermostat. any help would be great. ha ha, thanks again..
     
  2. May 17, 2006 #2

    Square Eye

    Square Eye

    Square Eye

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,273
    Likes Received:
    10
    Lay a ball-bat on the top step of the stairs.
     
  3. May 17, 2006 #3

    Square Eye

    Square Eye

    Square Eye

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,273
    Likes Received:
    10
    Sorry, A second thermostat fixed the problem when I saw this situation before. The Children figured out how to "fix" the thermostat, so we put a new thermostat in another room and hid it behind some shelves. The thermostat in my home is actually in my bedroom.

    Leave the old thermostat on and keep the batteries fresh.



    That's all I've got. A thermostat with password security may exist, but I don't know where to get one.
     
  4. May 17, 2006 #4

    inspectorD

    inspectorD

    inspectorD

    Housebroken Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,503
    Likes Received:
    267
    Square Eye stole my idea....I need to type faster or pay more attention...:D
    (I already have one at my house):rolleyes:
     
  5. May 17, 2006 #5

    Square Eye

    Square Eye

    Square Eye

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,273
    Likes Received:
    10
    A baseball bat on the top step?
     
  6. May 17, 2006 #6

    inspectorD

    inspectorD

    inspectorD

    Housebroken Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,503
    Likes Received:
    267
    I guess they don't feel hot or cold when they are out cold....:rolleyes:
     
  7. May 17, 2006 #7

    inspectorD

    inspectorD

    inspectorD

    Housebroken Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,503
    Likes Received:
    267
    I guess I had to refer to the second post you had.. the one with the second fake you out thermostat. No bat's at my house (not in my belfry), only the occasional car or truck or train or skateboard or block or lego or lincoln log or anything else you can come up with on my stairs.:rolleyes:
     
  8. Jun 15, 2006 #8

    aces11

    aces11

    aces11

    Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, cool, I think the second thermostat would be the way to go, however the original one is across the house from my room (only about 15 yards) so how could I get the wiring from the ac unit/old thermostat to my room. All in the attic
     
  9. Jun 15, 2006 #9

    inspectorD

    inspectorD

    inspectorD

    Housebroken Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,503
    Likes Received:
    267
    You could just disconnect the old line and run a new one for little money.
     
  10. Nov 13, 2006 #10

    akradar

    akradar

    akradar

    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Give the electric bill to your roomate next time.......PAY UP Chilly Willy!
     

Share This Page