How to force forced air ducts

Discussion in 'HVAC' started by samuelsfamily, Nov 23, 2006.

  1. Nov 23, 2006 #1

    samuelsfamily

    samuelsfamily

    samuelsfamily

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    We have a home built in 1917 that has forced air heat but it doesnt extend to the second floor. Is there any way to get duct work upstairs in the walls.we can & are going to sheet rock the walls but the one I need to use is a load bearing wall. Can I get a duct in it without ruining its integrety? Then I could some how make a branch from that main duct in-between the floor joist th the other bedroom.Are there ducts small enough to do this & does it sound like it could work? thanks in advanve for the ideas
     
  2. Nov 24, 2006 #2

    glennjanie

    glennjanie

    glennjanie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,990
    Likes Received:
    4
    Happy Thanksgiving SamuelsFamily:
    Yes there is a wall size duct made measuring 3" X 12" and they work quite well. However, that size will just carry enough heat for a small room; like 10' x12', so one run of it will not do the whole upstairs. You might consider using one per room or two in a larger room. I would also recommend at least one run for a return air. Heat and air just work better when they circulate rather than just push.
    Glenn
     
  3. Nov 27, 2006 #3

    j&krenovation

    j&krenovation

    j&krenovation

    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure you get an inspector out there to make sure your heating unit is sufficent to heat all that extra space. I think you can add another unit in the atic.
     

Share This Page