How to run a portable generator in hurricane rain/wind?

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

farmerjohn1324

Reaction score
If you're power goes out during a large storm, you will need a portable generator.

How can I protect it from the rain/wind that requires me to need it?

I have never used a generator before. Will starting it require me to go outside in the storm?

How can I get the power in the house without leaving a door or window slightly cracked?

That generator produces carbon monoxide which can kill your family in short time. Stick to flashlights until the storm has passed, or find a place with an overhang, or even your garage, if you don't mind leaving the door open.

Have you bought one yet, you can get some with a battery and a starter, and your best bet would be a shed on the side of the house. If you are going big enough to run the house there is special gear for changing from street to gen power.
If you are doing a small one to keep the fridge going you could install a set of outlets in a wall, male outside female inside.

That generator produces carbon monoxide which can kill your family in short time. Stick to flashlights until the storm has passed, or find a place with an overhang, or even your garage, if you don't mind leaving the door open.

I was planning on putting the generator outside.

Have you bought one yet, you can get some with a battery and a starter, and your best bet would be a shed on the side of the house. If you are going big enough to run the house there is special gear for changing from street to gen power.
If you are doing a small one to keep the fridge going you could install a set of outlets in a wall, male outside female inside.

I would just want the fridge, stove when necessary, a couple lamps, and a power strip for a computer and phone charger.