Privacy Fence gate repair....HELP!

Discussion in 'Carpentry and Woodworking' started by Sprocketmadness, Oct 16, 2011.

Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
  1. Oct 16, 2011 #1

Sprocketmadness

Sprocketmadness

Sprocketmadness

I am new to the forum and I am hoping someone can help me!
    I am also really new to DIY/home improvement so forgive me if
    I sound a little ignorant of things in describing my problem...

I will try to make a long story short:
    We have a 6ft wood privacy fence in our yard with a broken double gate.
    The gate that is nearest to the house is sagging so much that it can barely
    be moved. The other side seems to be sagging a little but is able to swing all the way open; however the bottom half of the 2 boards on the side where the gates meet are broken about 2 feet up from the ground.

SO...being that I have NO idea what to do about this I asked someone to come and look at it and give me an estimate. He said that it would cost $140 to fix and that was labor and materials which (if I remember correctly involved cement for the posts, maybe boards and some hardware for the gate).
    Then my friend said that her husband could do it....he quoted me $175-$250 before labor!!! He said that if we want it done "right" that will be the cost to fix posts and boards and hinges and a whole bunch of other stuff I didn't quite understand.

My husband insists that we let our friend do it "the right way" but since I have no expertise in this area I can't argue the point because I am not sure what any of this should cost in the first place!

If anyone has any experience with this I would really appreciate some insight. I don't even know exactly what parts would be necessary or I would go and price them myself to see if I was getting an estimate for a half-a**ed job or if our friend is making a small project bigger than it needs to be on our budget.
    HELP!!!!

2. Oct 16, 2011 #2

inspectorD

inspectorD

inspectorD