GFCI problem

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by Remodeler, Dec 11, 2008.

  1. Dec 11, 2008 #1

    Remodeler

    Remodeler

    Remodeler

    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I have redone my kitchen. I have a gfci outlet which doesen't work. I purchased a new one, installed it and it still does not work. It will not reset. The breaker at the box is not tripped. Every other outlet in the kitchen works. there are two others. Any ideas as to what could be wrong? Thanks in advance:confused:
     
  2. Dec 11, 2008 #2

    ALCHYMIST

    ALCHYMIST

    ALCHYMIST

    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are the two working outlets fed from the load terminals of the GFCI?
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2008
  3. Dec 11, 2008 #3

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    Lic.Electrical Contractor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    44
    I bet it's wired wrong. LINE/LOAD reversed.
     
  4. Dec 11, 2008 #4

    kok328

    kok328

    kok328

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    249
    Is there actually power to the wires your hooking up to the GFI?

    GFI won't reset unless under power.
     
  5. Dec 11, 2008 #5

    Remodeler

    Remodeler

    Remodeler

    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know, I took it out and put it back in the same way.
     
  6. Dec 11, 2008 #6

    Remodeler

    Remodeler

    Remodeler

    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe so. When I press the reset button you see a quick bit of the green power button. then nothing.
     
  7. Dec 11, 2008 #7

    Remodeler

    Remodeler

    Remodeler

    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am sorry, I don't know what line/load is. I just put it back the way it was.
     
  8. Dec 11, 2008 #8

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    Lic.Electrical Contractor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    44
    I'm sorry, and I know I'll get flamed for this, but you do not even know what line and load is and you are messing with electricity??? In NYC no less??????
    And now you want to troubleshoot the problem? :rolleyes:
     
  9. Dec 11, 2008 #9

    Remodeler

    Remodeler

    Remodeler

    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Flamed, not by me. This is why I am asking the question. The original gfci did not work. I replaced it putting the wires the same way there were. I did what the instructions said. Can you offer any help? if not thank you for your comment.
     
  10. Dec 11, 2008 #10

    Remodeler

    Remodeler

    Remodeler

    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    By the way how would I know I now have a problem if I did no change the outlet?
     
  11. Dec 11, 2008 #11

    Remodeler

    Remodeler

    Remodeler

    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Flamed, not by me. This is why I am asking the question. How would I know there was a problem if I did not change the outlet? I took it out, and put the wires back the same way they came out. Power off by the way. The instructions on the new gfci stated it was simple. follow the diagram. Done now it does not work still, now what?
     
  12. Dec 11, 2008 #12

    travelover

    travelover

    travelover

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    2
    Don't feel picked on. Speedy jumps on all the newbies.

    I'd get a book out on home wiring at the library, it'll answer your more basic questions.
     
  13. Dec 11, 2008 #13

    inspectorD

    inspectorD

    inspectorD

    Housebroken Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,502
    Likes Received:
    267
    It may help if there are directions and pictures which came with the outlet box.
    Any new GFCI recepticals will not work if the wires(line and load) are reversed.
    Basically the old ones could work, like the one you removed, but the new ones will not.
    After you fix this, please read a book on basic electricity and terminology if you are going to continue practicing electrical work without a licence.
    You get in less trouble from know it all's along the way, myself included.:D
    If that does not work, come on back and we will help as much as we can.
     
  14. Dec 11, 2008 #14

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    Lic.Electrical Contractor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    44
    Yeah, that's what I do. :rolleyes:
     
  15. Dec 11, 2008 #15

    kok328

    kok328

    kok328

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    249
    Power coming into the GFI is considered LINE power and gets attached to the lugs lableled LINE on the GFI.
    Wires leaving the GFI are considered LOAD power and gets attached to the lugs labeled LOAD on the GFI (these lugs usually have tape over them from the factory indicating a protection warning if not installed properly).
    The GFI will protect itself and anything hooked to the LOAD side of the receptacle.
    If you only have one set of wires coming in then just hook them up to the LINE terminals and your done. If you have multiple wires then you have to determine which are the LOAD wires and which are the LINE (hot) wires and then wire it up per instructions.
     
  16. Dec 12, 2008 #16

    triple D

    triple D

    triple D

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    1
    Since you have performed this work yourself, it is highly likely that you have a ground touching the neutral wire behind one of the two plugs that do not work. Remove the two non working plugs and inspect them for ground wire touching white wire where its bare, or touching screws. Count wires in boxes, hopefully there is two in the first, and one in the second. Anyway try that out and after you have both plugs out and hanging there, try to reset the gfi one more time. If this is to no avail, go and buy a power tester, or glow stick and check the wires at the gfi to verify that the line wires are indeed the line. Let us know what you found, we are curious of the solution. Good luck.....
     
  17. Dec 12, 2008 #17

    Remodeler

    Remodeler

    Remodeler

    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks to all of you so much for the advice. I will try and find out what is happening and let you know. I will get a book on electrical wiring. To Speedy Petey; I understand your dismay at my attempt. I am a licensed professional also, RNC,BSN. I just did what the box said to do by the diagram.
     
  18. Dec 12, 2008 #18

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    Lic.Electrical Contractor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    44
    Thank you for understanding and not taking it as a personal attack.


    Listen, I cut myself pretty bad. How do I tie off the stitches so that they...........Aw, forget it. :D
     
  19. Dec 12, 2008 #19

    Remodeler

    Remodeler

    Remodeler

    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    You were right. The outlet was wired wrong. I will leave the electrical to the electrician. I learned from this. Thank you for your help. Leave the stitches alone. Just keep them clean and dry until they are to be removed by the doctor. Thanks again.
     
  20. Dec 12, 2008 #20

    Remodeler

    Remodeler

    Remodeler

    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you to everybody that gave advice, I am really happy for the responses I got.
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2008

Share This Page